• Bridges
  • Cemeteries
  • Historical Markers
  • Oral Histories
  • Towns

About Us

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Williamson County

Williamson County is named for Robert M. Williamson, pioneer leader and veteran of the Battle of San Jacinto; created from Milam County, organized March 13, 1848, and located in Central Texas just north of the state capitol in Austin.  Physically, the eastern part of the county is level black land soil and the western part rolling limestone hills, all drained by the San Gabriel River and tributaries. The county has a lively history including Comanche’s, outlaws, Texas Rangers, the Chisholm Trail, cowboys, and sturdy pioneers.  The Comanches arrived in the area in the eighteenth century and lived in parts of the Territory of Williamson County until as late as 1838.  After they were crowded out by Anglo-American settlements who arrived in the late 1830’s, the Comanches continued to raid settlements in the county until the 1860’s.  There also appear to have been small numbers of Tonkawas, Kiowa, Yojuane, Tawakoni, and Mayeye Indians living in the county at the time of the earliest Anglo settlements.


The county occupies 1,137 square miles and is divided into two regions by the Balcones Escarpment, which runs through the center from north to south along a line from Jarrell to Georgetown to Round Rock. The western half of the county is an extension of the Western Plains and is undulating hilly brush land with an average elevation of 850 feet, while the eastern region is part of the Coastal Plains and is flat to gently rolling with an average elevation of 600 feet.


Population estimates on a sampling of towns in Williamson County for January 1, 2015:

Andice (300); Bartlett (3,344, partly in Bell County); Brushy Creek (23,472); Cedar Park (67,995, part [489] in Travis County); Coupland (280); Florence (1,207); Georgetown (59,805), county seat; Granger (1,473); Hutto (19,904); Jarrell (1,112); Jollyville (16,959, partly in Travis County); Leander (34,811); Liberty Hill (1,077); Round Rock (117,280, part [1,362] in Travis County);  Schwertner (175); Taylor (16,592); Thrall (891); Walburg (277); Weir (483).  Also, part [35,697] of Austin and Thorndale has a small portion in Williamson County.  (Source:   Texas State Historical Association, Texas Almanac)

The Williamson County Historical Commission

Our Bylaws

Our Oral History Handbook (rev 2020)

Our Oral History Short Story Acceptance Process (rev 2021)

Our Website Entries Policy (2019)

State of Texas Statute Chapter 318

Meetings:  the second Thursday of the month

Meeting Minutes:

Apply for Appointment to WCHC

The WCHC is composed of at least seven Williamson County residents who have demonstrated an interest in the preservation of Williamson County’s historical heritage. Appointees serve for two-year terms and meet no less than six times per year.  Click here for an Application form.  Please send completed applications to your precinct commissioner. Addresses and phone numbers for commissioner’s offices can be found at https://www.wilco.org/Elected-Officials/Commissioners-Court/Duties.

2021-2023 Appointee Membership


  • Eloise Brackenridge, Chair
  • Winnann Ewing, Vice-Chair
  • Nancy Bell, Treasurer; Budget Committee; Website Committee
  • Rachel Arnold, Secretary

Committee Chairs:

  • Joe Burgess, Oral History
  • Mildred Davis, Promotion & Publicity
  • Kandy Dipprey, Membership
  • Shelby Little, Fundraising
  • Jan Raesz, Historic Talks
  • Mickie Ross, Historical Markers
  • Joe Plunkett, Cemeteries


  • Jane DiGesualdo
  • Dan Doss
  • Sylvia Forbes
  • Barbara Glasscock
  • Ed Komandosky
  • Wayne Ware